Do you believe in magic?

When I was twelve I had a favorite bookmark. It was a field with a unicorn (which was my favorite animal at the time) and a quote – “some things have to be believed to be seen”

The fact that I still can exactly picture it 30 years later must mean it really struck a note.

I do still believe that there are things out there that, if you keep an open mind, will make themselves seen. The world works in mysterious ways.

This year, my third year in a row running the Boston marathon (and likely my final) will be special.

Not just because the race icon (mascot?) is the unicorn.

And not just because “third time’s the charm”.

And not just because my bib number starts and ends with 3 (32013).

But because together…it’s greater than the sum of its parts.

It’s magic.

Leave a Reply

