Fireflies

What is it about fireflies that takes you back to childhood?

We’re vacationing in Maine this week. I’ve spent a couple days in paradise on the shores of Moosehead Lake.

I’ve seen moose, deer, rabbits, a partridge and loons. Beautiful exotic creatures.

I’ve spent three nights out for drives specifically to look for moose.

Day 1 – 5 moose (jackpot!)
Day 2 – bupkis. Nada. Zilch. Perhaps the moose don’t work Sunday’s?
Day 3 – 2 moose. The second sighting was the best of the weekend. Exactly a 1/2 mile from our rental house. And in a clearing. We sat for almost a half hour watching her eat. And it was amazing.

And yet after returning “home” to the cabin and seeing fireflies in the lawn, I was giddy. I haven’t seen them in years and was instantly transported back to my youth. When we used to catch them in our hands and peek to see the light. It felt like a gift to see it. Like you were part of something magic.

I knew this place was special when I saw the faerie circle mowed into the lawn. But fireflies? Definitely some magic here.

Leave a Reply

