One hump or two…

Well, I finally did it. I gave in and bought a camelbak.

Because already owning four ways of transporting water during a run isn’t enough. Lol

But I don’t like carrying things in my hand. And anything that goes around my waist tends to slide and move. And when I get constantly irritated during a run, it definitely makes it less fun.

So normally I don’t carry anything. I’ve logged 10 – 12 mile runs without hydration. And I’m usually ok. Slightly thirsty by the end, but ok.

And yes, I know that it is probably affecting my performance, but it’s just training. During races I take advantage of water stops.

However…it’s summer. And we’ve hit that time of year where I’m thirsty two miles in and gritty by mile four. And that’s not good.

So yesterday, when I seriously considered running through a random stranger’s sprinkler, I knew I had to do something before Sunday’s long run.

But I’m smaller framed and don’t want to feel like a pack mule in a giant backpack.

And I lucked out. Because camelbak makes kid sized 50 oz packs.

And not only is it the loveliest shade of pink and fits light and easy – it has multiple pockets. For my phone and gu and heck, I could probably fit a sandwich in there.

I tested it out so far just around the house. And sure, there’s a little sloshy noise to deal with – but sloshy versus collapsing on a run is a good trade off right? πŸ™‚

So tomorrow – my hump and I will take it out on the roads. Wish us luck πŸ™‚

20140628-081424-29664046.jpg

Leave a Reply

