Chicken of the sea

I love my dog. He’s the cutest little guy ever.

But he’s a big chicken. For some reason – he is afraid of the ocean.

We’ve taken him there before and he likes the beach – but get him to close to the water or seaweed and he is out of there! He also doesn’t care for the docks by the water in Plymouth. Totally freaks out. I’m guessing it’s a scent thing. Who knows what the sea smells like to someone with a highly sensitive nose. Or maybe it’s the sloshy sound that leaves him unsettled.

So I’m not entirely sure what we were thinking taking him to the Maine coast for a couple days.

Where we stayed there was a short footbridge over the harbor. He was on it all of 30 seconds before his feet planted, his tail went rigid and he tried to pull back the way we came. We did get him across but he kept trying to stay to the far edge of the bridge.

On the way back It actually got so bad I had to carry him part way. I told him it was embarrassing to both of us, but he didn’t care. He just wanted back on dry land. Needless to say – that was his last trip across. Lol

The next day we took him on a drive along the rocky shores. We parked by a small beach and put the windows down. Every time a wave rolled in he jumped. So much for my brave little terrier!

Then that afternoon he begrudgingly sat on my lap on a bench by the water to watch the parade of boats in the harbor. All was fine until the pirate ship fired their muskets. That did it. (See attached photo). We couldn’t even get him near the benches the next day.

I think he was starting to question our choice of vacation. Lol

So I think what I’ve learned is my boy is not a salty dog. And next time we head to the beach, he can stay home. Where it’s safe and dry and doesn’t move, slosh or smell funny. 🙂

20140630-182551-66351542.jpg

Leave a Reply

