Week in review – 9/1/14

Holy crud it’s September? How did that happen.

It was a great final week to August. And honestly – it was a pretty good month!

I log all my workouts in a spreadsheet and footnote any memorable ones. It was fun this week to compare the first Friday of the month with the last Friday of the month and see it was 16 seconds per mile faster. I’m quite proud of my progress!

So on to this week…

Wednesday’s river run – the usual garminless 8.3 miles at a nice comfy pace. I really am enjoying running without concern for pace. Especially as I’m learning what my paces feel like. Also – saw a great blue heron. So pretty.

Friday’s 5 miler was spectacular. It was 53 out and perfect for speed. Negative splits, an 8:48/mi average and per my garmin…my fastest mile (8:15) and 5k (26:09) of the year. Woohoo!! And, that 5k is only 5 seconds slower than my PR set in May 2011. Really makes me feel like I’m back. 🙂

Sunday long run – SLIMY is the best word to describe it. 70 degrees, 70% humidity and somewhat sunny. But – when the schedule calls for 16 miles you “suck it up buttercup” and do it.

And I did it fairly well. Planned to run slow and still clocked a 10:14/mi average pace. But, despite consuming my entire water bottle I was definitely dehydrated. I struggled my last 3 miles and when I took off my sneakers post run my feet cramped badly. Oops!! Glad it’s almost fall so it will be a little more distance-friendly weather.

This morning – Monday recovery run of slow 1mi repeats. Still beyond humid out there. Ick! But 4 miles done.

Overall – a good solid week. And, I think I was around 140 miles for the month. Highest since March I think. Onward & upward!!

And race countdown…

Just a few days to my first adventure race – the Diva Dash!

Four weeks to the Adirondack half.

And 8 weeks to the Cape Cod Marathon.

Feeling good about them all!

Happy Monday – and Happy running!!

Leave a Reply

