Back to Basics

I’ve been slacking. 

Yes, I’ve still been running and weights and crosstraining (sort of). 

But I haven’t head my head in the game and I’ve neglected the little stuff. 

And when you neglect the little stuff, everything else suffers. 

Two months from today is my second time at the Disney Marathon.  (Goofy Challenge)

The first time I completed it, it was my first big race post injury. And while I had prepared as best as I could, I wasn’t in fighting shape. 

This time, I want to be. 

Plus I need to face facts…that 2:04 half last weekend bothers me. 

I know, a 2:04 half would make most people quite happy.  And yes, even tho it was my slowest of the three this year, it was still faster than all five of 2014. But that’s not enough. 

I’ve come a long way over the past two years. But I’m not fully back. I’m not the same runner who got a 1:50 half PR. 

But I know she’s in there. I need to dig her back out. 

It’s time to get back to basics. To pay attention to the details. 

To drink more water and less wine. More green tea and less coffee. 

To eat more protein and less sugar. 

To do yoga and stretch more. 

To take every workout seriously. The runs. The weights. The bike workouts. So that I earn the rest days. 

To give 110% every time. 

To let that inner warrior free. 

To start thinking like an athlete again. 

I got this. It’s simple. It’s basic. It’s all the power of mind over matter. 

And it’s time. 

Happy Tuesday my friends. And happy running!

Leave a Reply

