Hibernation

I appear to have reached the section of winter where I just want to hibernate. 

Especially considering it was absurdly negative temps in the Northeast over the weekend. 

  
I have not run in three days. Yep. Three. 

And yet, I’m oddly okay with it. 

Saturday is usually a rest day anyway. And as we were away over the weekend and I knew it would be too cold to run Sunday, I made an ice skating date with my aunt instead. In an indoor rink of course. 

  
Aren’t we adorbs? 🙂 and yes, I did look up after to see how far around a standard rink is. 

It’s a 1/10 of a mile. Since we skated for an hour, we had to have covered at least 3 miles, right? 

Monday was supposed to be a run day. We headed home early and there was plenty of time to get out for a few miles. But I just couldn’t do it. 

My house was really cold when we got back, and I was shivering so much the thought of going outside in 20 degrees to run was not a happy one. 

Instead, I chose the chair with a blanket, my zombie guard dog and the new episode of Walking Dead. 

And I swear, I was on such an adrenaline high through it that I was almost like a workout. Lol

But it was odd for me to make a conscious choice to not run. And even odder to feel it was the right one. 

My mileage for the week is gonna suck. But I’m hoping all the extra rest will make those miles I do get in, better quality. 

And today – I’ll go hit a nice warm treadmill. 🙂

Happy Tuesday my friends. And happy running!

2 thoughts on “Hibernation

Leave a Reply

