Saving Miss Lula

You know that I LOVE animal encounters on my runs. Well this week was a really special one. πŸ™‚

I rescued a goat. 

Totally a case of right place, right time. I had originally planned a different route. And then last minute decided to mix it up. And I’m so glad I did. 

I was a little over two miles in when I spotted something large and black and white walking into the road ahead of me.  Thinking it was a loose dog I started speeding up to go to its assistance.  At the same time trying to flag the car coming from behind me to slow down. 

And as I got closer I realized it wasn’t a dog after all, it was a goat. Who apparently had escaped from her pen and was going off on an adventure. And was currently standing right in the middle of the road. 

I know that goat, sort of. I run this street fairly often and know this one house keeps a gorgeous horse, chickens and goats. 

So as I came up to it I called out “hi baby, come here” and the goat actually came back over to the sidewalk and stopped. “Good goat” I told it and it started wagging. Awwww. 

I snagged her by the collar (grateful she had one – because not sure if she would have come with me otherwise) and she leaned into me. I gave her a hug and some reassuring pats. And said “let’s get you home”

We walked up the long drive and there, watching us from behind the fence with a “I tried to stop her, but she wouldn’t listen” look was another goat. 

Knowing I had no idea how to get the goat back in her pen, I did what anyone would do. I rang a strangers doorbell to return their goat. Lol

When the man answered his door I said “hi. I think this is your goat. She was in the road”. He shook his head and said he’d be right out. 

So the goat and I sat on the front porch, her with her head in my lap, and waited.   

Turns out this little scoundrel is named Lula. She’s only 3 1/2 months old. And her best friend, the horse is away at camp. So she got lonely and likely bored and went off looking for trouble. 

The owner was quite grateful for my help, and I was quite grateful to have been there at just the right moment. When else do you get to hang out with a goat on a Sunday morning. 

So Miss Lula – I’ll be keeping an eye on you now when I’m on your road. I hope you learned your lesson and stay put. πŸ™‚ but thanks for the hugs. 

As for the rest of the run? It was fine…tho I did have a smile on my face for all of it. 

Happy Monday my friends. And happy running!

3 thoughts on “Saving Miss Lula

Leave a Reply

