Slimy yet satisfying

This humidity can go away any time it wants to…it’s seriously vampiring my speed. It sucks!

I did have one nice zippy run this week. Wednesday morning was delightfully dry and I was about a minute per mile faster than I had been in a couple weeks. Sweet!! 

 Then, the wall of gross came back…and my slothish paces returned. 

Friday morning was bad…95% humidity. You know, where it’s not “raining” it’s just wet.  And you dig deep the last half mile just to balance out your average pace to something not embarrassing. Lol 

 
But Sunday…Sunday was a challenge. With Anchor Down looming large I knew I needed a good solid training run. Something to simulate the race and let me practice my hydration. 

I mapped out a 2.4 mile loop (anchor will be a 2.45 mile one) and planned for 3 hours, with something between 16-18 miles total. Depending on how much I ended up walking. 

It was gloomy and grey and HUMID so I wore my brightest socks, which oddly matched the flowers I passed near the end of each loop.  

 

I also tried an experiment with my watch. I turned off auto lap. I decided the easiest way mentally to not let what I knew would be a slow pace bother me mentally, was to not be reminded every mile of how bad it was.  Plus it would help me decide if I do the same during the race. I mean, will I get annoyed by the alerts by mile 40? Or will I welcome them as a reminder of accomplishment.  Hmmm…

So I stashed my supplies (electrolyte tablets, gels and a water bottle) in my “aid station tree” behind my house and headed off. 

All in all the loop plan went well. By the fifth time around I was starting to get a little mind-weary of the route. But I needed that practice. 

And having access to water (and a rest room) every mile should I need it, is an awesome thing on a warm sticky day. 

Somehow, and likely due to the magic of the electrolytes, water (seriously – I drank way more than normal) and a well timed gel, I ran the whole 3 hours and 2 minutes.  I didn’t expect to. I figured I’d get in 15 miles and then start walking some. But I didn’t. Yay!

Oh, and the last two miles the sprinklers came on. Oh yeah, needed that. 🙂 

In total, I got in 17.01 miles at a 10:44/mi pace. And oddly, I’m quite happy with it. Because it wasnt about the pace, it was about the training experience. 

And when I got home and my hubby asked “how was the run” I replied… Slimy yet satisfying. 🙂

Happy Tuesday my friends, and happy running!

Leave a Reply

