Confessions of an injured runner

Call it the DL, the PUP List, injured reserve…whatever you want. Because whatever you call it, you sure don’t want to call it home. 

Which is why, a couple of days after Anchor Down, I was horrified to realize I was on it. 

It’s my own darn fault. I really should know better than to choose a race with that much trail. I just didn’t expect the trail to be a chaotic series of cris-crossing tree roots. Or that it would result in me somehow tweaking my knee. 

I also think it’s kind of funny it took a couple days to realize I’d done it. (Andrenaline – what an amazing thing). 

But, it forced me to spend a week doing nothing (tho honestly I likely would have anyway), then a week walking 🚢🏻(is there anything more frustrating than walking when you REALLY want to run?) and then finally, started back running πŸƒπŸ»this week. 

So yeah, I spent two weeks full grumpy cat. 😾😿 Cuz you know, bad enough I had to taper and not run much before the race, but now two more weeks of not running was total BS. 

And while I’m back “running”,  this ain’t what I’m used to.  My first run back was slow as a turtle going uphill through molasses. 🐒🐒🐒And yet, as it was my first run in so long, it was still awesome. πŸ˜„ πŸŽ‰

I’m working my way back. I’m sure not under the lights at Fenway right now. Heck, I’m barely even Pawtucket quality. But each run is getting a little faster. And I’m being careful. 

Because while anything I have planned for fall is negotiable, January and the Goofy Challenge will be here before I know it.  

 So for now, I’ll listen to my knee, do my cross training, watch my pace and form and hope one of these days I wake up and it’s magically back to 100%. πŸ™‚

Cuz it’s time to get Goofy!!

Leave a Reply

