Running for the cycle

As baseball has its cycle, so does running. 

Ours, is the 5k, 10k, 13.1 and 26.2. Plus for the adventurers, the 50k, 50 mile, etc. aka the ultra. 

And I realized this week, that I’m a 5k short of hitting the cycle for 2016. 

And well, since my “Dopey” brother did it, and all of it in four days (lol), I figured I should complete it too. 🙂

But what to run? 

Because I’m not really a 5k girl anymore…which is why nearly 10 months into the year I haven’t run one yet. I just haven’t speed trained, because I’d rather go far, than fast. 

And yet…I had an a-ha moment.  I am going to run a turkey trot. 

It’s been years since I did one. And I’m going to be home for thanksgiving. And our town has a cute fast and flat one. And, based on last year’s results, if I train right, I might have a chance to place.  And, one of my sole sisters is running it. So it will be fun. (Turkey sparkly skirts anyone?)

Yeah, I’ve got my work cut out for me. Because I have a half in mid-October and am also focused on my Goofy distance training. 

But I love goals. And a 25 minute 5k will be a fun one. Because while it’s been a while… muscles remember and I just have to spark that memory. 

And if I miss the goal, it’s not the end of the world, I’ll still have the joy of a fun little holiday tradition I haven’t been part of for ages. A chance to cheer on my sole sister as she finished. And mimosas post race for sure. 🙂

So let the speedwork begin. Tempo, yassos and fartleks, oh my!!

Leave a Reply

