Back to the ‘mill

Treadmill, dreadmill, rat wheel, hamster wheel, satan’s sidewalk…whatever you call it, it’s pretty much in all runners lives. 

Some love it. ๐Ÿ˜ Because it sets your pace and you don’t need to worry about dealing with traffic and distractions. You can focus and run. ๐Ÿ™‚

Most hate it. ๐Ÿ˜ฉ Because it’s indoors and changes your stride and is immensely boring. โ˜น๏ธ

I consider it a necessary evil. ๐Ÿ˜ˆ I am so not a fan, but on a day when I must run, and being outside isn’t an option (rain, dark, oppressive heat, etc), it lets me. 

I have been incredibly fortunate to not be on one in so long that I don’t exactly remember the last time I used one. Hmmm… ๐Ÿค” (June maybe?)

Until yesterday that is. 

Because it’s getting kinda dark ๐ŸŒŒ in the mornings and pretty soon my runrise ๐ŸŒ„excursions will have to stop. 

And because…I wanna go fast. ๐ŸŽ And the treadmill is the easiest place to train for speed. 

Remember how I signed up for a turkey trot? ๐Ÿฆƒ Well…I kinda set a lofty goal of a 25 minute finish.  Not impossible (I’ve done it before), but it’s going to take some serious work to get back to my old paces of early 2015. 

So, while I had already gotten out for my morning run, I dusted off the pair of sneakers that have been waiting patiently all summer in my desk drawer, and took them to the gym. 

And. It. Was. Awesome.  

I ran a whole bunch of sprint intervals at goal 5k pace. And while it did make me realize how much work is gonna be involved in the next 8 weeks – I also scored a 27:51 5k time. Which is a great baseline to work from. 

So, the treadmill and I are gonna become frenemies again. Wish me luck!! 

Ps…it is now 99 days to Disney! #letsgetgoofy

2 thoughts on “Back to the ‘mill

    • Oh I have a couple. ๐Ÿ™‚ and use it for part of my run right now. It’s amazing! But there’s a lot of wildlife by my house and while a bunny in the dark is harmless, the coyotes not so much.

Leave a Reply

