Running Goldilocks

I feel like the Goldilocks of half-marathons…. in search of one that’s just right.

See…the first was too stormy and the second one too cold.  Here’s hoping the third one is a perfect fit.

I should be sitting here right now writing a race recap.  And instead, i’m explaining why i’m not.   Essentially its because a windchill of -5 does not make for ideal racing conditions.

After the Walt Disney World Half-marathon got cancelled due to extreme thunderstorms I went in search of a spring half-marathon to ‘check the box’ of a half for the year (gotta hit for the cycle again, of course). Knowing I didn’t want to run Hyannis again this year but needing something that fit into my training plan for the Maine Coast Marathon I discovered the Ocean’s Run Half.

A nice scenic half marathon along the water in Westerly, RI.  Had all the makings of a fun half.  One that I didn’t really train for except getting my distance mileage back after off-season.  I knew that it wouldn’t be one of my best but just a good solid training run.

So as the weekend went on and the temperatures started looking less than ideal I knew i had a difficult decision to make.  Do I suck it up, wake up early, drive 90 minutes to go run in ’11 feels like -3′ with strong winds?  Or do I sleep in, eat waffles and christen my new treadmill with a 20-miler.

I don’t take missing a race lightly.  In my 8 years of racing I had only missed two other half marathons.  One, because I was on crutches and couldn’t run it and the other  because it was free, it was extremely early, and it was already 80 at the start.

I hemmed and hawed.  I still put out a set of extremely warm clothes just in case.  I reached out to a Facebook running group that i’m in (hilariously enough, they were was torn as me.  Half said run, half said don’t.  Most asked about the medal.  LOL) and, when I went to bed was 99% sure I was staying home.

But ah, that 1%.   And when I woke up at 4am I said, let me just go check and see if the weather magically improved.  Noting it hadn’t, I STILL played ‘do I, don’t I’ on the way up the stairs.  At which point I missed the top step, smashed my shin and said to myself “go back to bed moron, you’re not going to the race”  Because clearly we sometimes need the universe to knock some sense into us.

Side note – love my new treadmill.  And netflix and ‘mill is a good way to send a Sunday morning.  Especially since I discovered Ultimate Beastmaster.  Its awesome.

And, from what I found out later, about 50 people opted out.  Including the race photographer.  And that it was an extremely brutal race to where even the fast runners had way slower (like 90 seconds per mile slower) times than usual.  Yeah, I was only going to run this as a ‘fun half’ and that would NOT have been fun. (Plus the medal was fine, but not WOW. So not worth it to me.)

So, as a goldilocks seeking the just right race…I started searching again.  And knowing that there is no way I am taking a chance on another one in March, I looked at April.

Which also means i’ve now totally blown my idea to run only in odd months. Tho I did at least pick one with on an odd date!  April 23rd.  The Blackstone Valley Half-Marathon.

Its in Pawtucket, RI, so WAY closer than Westerly.  Its not too hilly (tho I hear there is one good-sized hill) and it winds along a bike bath that the hubby and I ride on quite a bit (so I know some of the course).  Its three weeks before Maine Coast, so its well-positioned as a time trial for me.  And, plenty of time to train for it as a serious half.  (because, while I have a 2:05 Dopey Corral POT in my back pocket, of course I want a better one.)

So lets home third time’s the charm and that this half is ‘just right’.

 

Leave a Reply

