Does mother nature hate runners?

Because seriously – i’m feeling like she’s out to get me.

Is she drunk? Feeling mean-spirited?  Was the full moon affecting her? Because this whole 50’s during the week followed by sub-zero windchills on the weekend for two weeks is just total BS.

I do appreciate that I have at least been able to run outside a couple times in the past two weeks.  I just wish that one of them had been a long run.

Yes, for the second Sunday in a row, it was netflix & ‘mill.  Because if I wasn’t going to run in -3 for a medal, I sure as heck wasn’t going to do it for nothing.

And can I just say how mentally challenging it is to run 14 miles on a treadmill? In a row… I mean sure, 14 miles total is no biggie if its over oh…four days. LOL  But 14 all at once?  There’s no tv show in the world good enough to get you through that.

At mile 5 I started the calculations…the old well, since i’m running slower, then if I run by time versus distance I really only need to run x many miles to have the same effect.  #runnermath At some point I decided even 10 miles would be enough…as long as I readded those 4 miles back in somewhere else so I still reached my weekly goal.  #runnerlogic

I think it was around mile 8 1/2, when I grabbed a bottle of water, dropped in a nuun tablet and headed back down to the ‘gym’ that I realized that come hell or high water I was getting in that 14.  Even if I had to walk.  Because there was leftover pizza in the fridge and I was going to earn it. #runnerpride

And somehow…I did.  Speed intervals, hill intervals, strategic walk breaks, another episode of Ultimate Beastmaster…whatever it took to keep the mind and legs moving.  It wasn’t pretty, but it was done. And sometimes that’s all that matters.

Of course…yesterday we got SNOW.  Fortunately not as much as they predicted but still…its going to be a few more days before it clears enough for outside running.  And oh look – more snow in the forecast for the weekend.

I so would prefer not having to do yet another long run on the treadmill…. anyone know how we can bribe mother nature into playing nice this weekend?  Maybe if we give her enough green beer Friday night she’ll sleep late and I can get out early Saturday.  LOL

Of course, i’m not just thinking about me.  Because there are oh, thousands of runners all getting ready for the Boston marathon that need their long runs too!  And I know from experience that training in the cold and then having it warm on race day makes the race a little harder.  So please mother nature…for all my fellow unicorns.  Can we just have one nice weekend?????  Or at least move along to April.  I’m so over March.

Leave a Reply

