Sushi vs the Long Run

I blame the salmon. Or maybe it was the wasabi. But whatever it was, it did not agree with my decision to run after lunch. 

But I had decided that there was no way I was doing a third treadmill long run in a row. My brain might finally explode. 

And Saturday afternoon was going to be the nice point of the weekend.  

And I totally didn’t think anything would be wrong with going out for sushi with the hubs for lunch. Rice is usually a runners best friend.  And soy sauce is practically an electrolyte. ๐Ÿ˜‰

But…there was a lot of “I don’t usually” involved. Like…I don’t usually run in the afternoon. I don’t usually run on Saturdays. I don’t usually run long the day after leg day. And I don’t usually run after sushi. Okay, I have never run after sushi. ๐Ÿ˜‚

It wasn’t immediately after. I gave it an hour. Then laced up, grabbed my favorite accessories – buddy pouch & sparkle visor – and headed out for a goal of 12-14 miles. 

And about a half mile in…the sushi roared to life.  (Totally pictured Godzilla rising over the Tokyo skyline) It was…not pleased. 

But eh. I’m an ultra runner. I’m used to keeping moving when things hurt. It’s just not usually my stomach.  

But I said to myself, what if this happens at Maine Coast. What if you have a lobster roll the night before and at mile 8 it claws back?

If we have to train for any possible snafu, then maybe this is a good thing. (Yeah sure…lol)

So I kept moving. And hoped it would go away. But spent the next several miles alternating between hoping I would throw up and not wanting to be “the runner who hurled in front of somebody’s house” 

I tried to focus on how nice it was out and just breathing in the fresh air. Staying slow and steady and reminding myself “You’re not on the treadmill for the first time in 10 days. Yay!”

And, I called the run at 13.1. I just didn’t have 14 in me. But that’s okay.  Because I wasn’t even sure I could do that. ๐Ÿ˜€
I was, however, extremely pleased to see that my run was both faster than I thought and quite consistent. 

In fact the only reason the last mile was a smidge slower was because of an ice patch I couldn’t avoid and had to walk over. Not bad…

So I’m really hoping that next weekend, when I’m not involved in a battle of “woman vs food” that the run gets even better. Especially if I get to run outside again. 

March has been kinda bipolar. So there are no guarantees. Except that I will definitely not be having sushi before I run. ๐Ÿ˜

Leave a Reply

