The Greeter

Can I just say how April’s weather is so far a vast improvement over March? Yay!!

And just in time with all the miles that sit on my calendar between now and the Maine Coast Marathon. Because 20 miles is WAY more fun at 50 degrees than in 30.  

The other advantage to this weather is that I’m back logging regular lunchtime runs along the lovely Charles River path. Me and TONS of other runners. 

My tribe…has returned. And yes, there are lots of characters among them.  

It’s amazing to think how many random strangers I know by their sneakers, or their hat or their lack of shirt. Lol

But there is one fella I know by his wave. (And his beard. He has a cool one.)

I’ve seen him probably 3 or 4 times recently, and I absolutely love this guy.  

Why? Because he goes out of his way to wave at every single runner (or walker or dog) he passes.  And it really makes me happy to wave back and say hi. 

He’s become one of the highlights of my “runches”. 

This week, I passed him from behind early into my run and was actually disappointed that I wouldn’t get to say hi. But due to some kind of path and pace magic, after I hit the turn around point, there he was coming at me (yes!!). So I was able to wave and smile after all. 

It’s the little things. Because sure, we all have different goals and paces and reasons for why we lace ’em up and head to the river. But when we are out there…we are all runners.  So why not be friendly. 😀 👋

As far as training? It’s going awesome. Sunday was “just” 12 miles so I used it as sort of a time-trial for the Blackstone Valley Half (in 2 weeks).

I think there’s hope for me yet! 

And pictured are my must have long run accessories –  buddy pouch, Brooks launches & garmin. Plus look ma – no sleeves! Gotta love t-shirt weather. Woohoo!!

Hope you all have a great week, beautiful spring weather and happy runs. 😃

Leave a Reply

