Cinderella seeks glass slipper

My glass slipper shattered…

Well, it shattered my 5k PR in November. Lol But now….it has reached its maximum miles. And is about to go into retirement. 

It’s my fourth pair of this particular shoe. The Brooks Launch 2. My favorite pair of running shoes EVER. And…it no longer exists. 

Believe me, I’ve looked. Everywhere. It’s just a couple years old and I can’t find it in my size on discount sites or running sites or the back dusty corner of a running store. 

So here I am…a running Cinderella seeking that new perfect fit. 

I have the Launch 4, the newest iteration. I even ran the Maine Coast marathon in them. But I don’t get that same sense of magical happiness that the 2’s gave me.  

They are stiffer. And I think are aggravating my Achilles. Which is kind of a problem. 

I recently bought a pair of the new Ghost 10 to try. And they are squishy marshmallows of goodness. But they are a little heavier than the Launch. So while I know they are going to be awesome for marathoning…I still need speed shoes. 

There are SO many new ones on the Brooks website that I don’t even know what to try. So I actually sent them an email to see what they might suggest.  Do I pureflow? Am I a Revel? Or is this a job for the Neuro…  help!!! 

I’ll keep you all posted – because I am fairly sure I’m not the only one mourning the 2’s. 

I did give them one last hurrah. I took them to Potsdam NY this weekend to run the 5k at my husband’s college reunion. And they went out on top. 

We ran a 26:14…good enough for 7th overall and 2nd female. 🙂 woohoo!

Now…they become my weekend errand pair.  Because even old glass slippers deserve respect. And I just can’t quit them…

6 thoughts on “Cinderella seeks glass slipper

  1. Tragic when they retire or change your favorite shoes! I think I bought every single pair of Hoka Clifton 1’s size 11 that existed on Ebay–finally on my last pair and will have to try something new soon–very sad!

Leave a Reply

